DUI And Licensing Matters

The charge of driving under the influence is a serious charge which carried the possibility of up to 364 days in jail, fines up to $5,000, probation for up to five years, license suspension or revocation as well as treatment requirements. Our attorneys have successfully and aggressively handled DUI, and Physical Control cases throughout the Puget Sound Corridor since 1984. Call for a free consultation.

Q: What is DUI?

A: Driving under the influence (DUI) refers to operating a vehicle while affected by alcohol, drugs, or both. This applies to both legal and illegal drugs, including prescription medication and over-the-counter drugs. The legal limit for consumption of alcohol is .08%. However it is possible to be charged with DUI for alcohol if a breath or blood level is under .08 if there is an allegation that your driving was affected by the alcohol and or drugs you consumed.

Q: What should I do if I am pulled over for DUI?

A: As a general rule, if you are pulled over, always be polite. Give the officer your license, proof of insurance, and registration. If the officer proceeds to ask you questions, do not answer them. You have a right to remain silent. Assert your right. Do not perform field exercises or field sobriety tests ask to speak to an attorney as soon as possible. Call the Law Firm of Anna K. Woods and we will help you minimize the devastation of a DUI arrest.

Q: What are the consequences if I am found guilty of DUI?

A: Washington DUI laws are among the toughest in the nation, so to avoid costly penalties and license suspensions, time if of the essence. After you are arrested you may end up with a DUI case in a criminal court as well as a license suspension or revocation. You are also entitled to an administrative hearing to challenge and dispute the mandatory license suspensions or revocations. However, you only have 20 days from the day of your arrest to challenge this action by the DOL, so it is imperative that you contact us as soon as possible.
A DUI charge is a gross misdemeanor but may become a felony DUI charge if you have four prior DUI convictions within a 10 year period. If you are convicted of a DUI (gross misdemeanor) in criminal court you may face up to a $5,000 fine, may be required to complete a drug and alcohol assessment, to complete up to two years of treatment, to install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle you drive, to serve time on electronic home monitoring, face a possible license revocation, be required to report to a probation officer, and be subject to court supervision for up to 5 years.

 Q: Can I do a Deferred Prosecution?

A: A deferred prosecution is not to be entered into lightly. You must be aware of the risks and rewards of successfully completing (or not completing) this intense program. You are only allowed to enter into a deferred prosecution for alcohol or drug addictions once ion your lifetime. Additionally, not everyone qualifies.

Washington State’s 20-Day Licensing Hearing Rule

The Department of Licensing clock starts ticking immediately upon your arrest for DUI in Washington State. The Law Office of Anna K. Woods can help prevent the suspension of your license.
If you refused to submit to the official DUI breath test (BAC) at the station, or you submitted and have a BAC of 0.08% or higher, the State will attempt to suspend or revoke your license. In almost every case, this attempt happens before your trial often even before you are charged with DUI or Physical Control of a motor vehicle.
These consequences from a DUI arrest happen automatically within 60 days from the date of your arrest, unless you file a request for a hearing to challenge the suspension or revocation with the Washington State Department of Licensing within 20 days of your arrest. If you fail to request a hearing within 20 days of your DUI arrest AND pay the $375 fee you lose all right to challenge the suspension or revocation. This is why it is important to talk to an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible so that you understand your legal options and Washington State DUI Laws.
Remember, penalties concerning your drivers license are a civil matter and a drivers license suspension will go into effect, regardless of whether or not the DUI criminal charges against you are filed.